My European Adventure

This past July, I had an amazing opportunity to travel Europe for two weeks. I visited Italy, Germany, Switzerland, Austria, and France. I don’t know how I haven’t gotten around to writing about my journey yet, but it is due time to fill you in. I am so lucky to have been able to share this experience with one of my very good friends- Mallory. Thanks to her, those bustling two weeks were spent continuously laughing while shopping, eating, and wandering through a multitude of beautiful places. A large thank you to my supportive mom and family for allowing me this trip. These memories will last forever, and I am so blessed to have been able to experience a taste of the world.

img_9469
Mallory & I in Austria

I found out very early in the trip that being a foodie and traveling go hand in hand. Being in a new place is a completely acceptable reason to consume a plethora of carb-loaded, fattening, and sugary treats.. I mean c’mon i’m on vacation right?! I developed a love for three of what I considered to be the holy grail of European eating: cappuccino, croissant, and gelato. I may or may not have eaten 40-something croissants, and 2-4 gelato/cappuccino a day. I also may or may not have returned back to the states with an additional 7lb weight gain  despite the copious amount of walking we did 😉

Oh, and I forgot to mention bread…

img_3533
Enjoying a baguette in Paris

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oh, and pasta…

Although in this post I am only mentioning a sampling of the food we encountered on our trip, the places we were able to see were simply breathtaking. If I was to begin talking about them, this post could go on forever! To keep it short, some of my favorite memories were when we; hiked the Swiss alps at night, found our way into a quaint German bar to catch the Germany vs. France soccer game with some locals, rode a gondola in Venice, ate at a beautiful farm in Switzerland, and watched the sunset from the top of the Eiffel Tower. This trip opened my eyes to the world, and made me certain of one thing- I love to travel. I always thought I would, but now I am certain that in the future I want to eat my way around the world. I want to discover new culture, cuisine, and the love that is put in to food. I want to see what this world has to offer.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. paul bogush says:

    Awesome 🙂

    One day…no rush..send me an email about some highlights in France. My daughter is planning a trip to France next year and will be about same age, and also a foodie.
    Love the baguette pic 🙂

    1. juliaesposito says:

      Thank you Mr. Bogush, will do ! 🙂

  2. Catherine Nuzzo says:

    This is awesome, Julia! I look forward to hearing more about your European adventure and your time in Germany and of course Italia! Optimus comentarius de cibo Europeo!

    1. juliaesposito says:

      Multas Gratias!

Leave a Reply

